Useful Links

Local Services

 

Hertfordshire Family Centre Service – 0300 123 7572 – www.hertsfamilycentres.org
Covering Hemel Hempstead, Berkhamsted, Tring, Chipperfield, Kings Langley

For Race and Hate Crime – Watford and Dacorum – 01923 472085

Herts direct – www.hertsdirect.org

Dacorum Borough Council – http://www.dacorum.gov.uk

Dacorum First Credit Union – 01442 240250 – www.dacorum.gov.uk
A savings & lending co-operative, owned and run local volunteers

 

Domestic Violence

National Domestic Violence Helpline – 0808 2000 247 – www.womensaid.org.uk
Free 24 hour helpline for victims of Domestic Violence.

Hertfordshire Domestic Abuse Line – 08088 088 088
Helpline for victims of Domestic Abuse

The National Centre for Domestic Violence – 0844 8044 999 www.ncdv.org.uk
Free fast services to survivors of Domestic Violence

Futures without violence – www.endabuse.org
Advice and support including how to help boys grow into non violent men.

Respect – 0808 802 4040 – www.respect.uk.net
Advises men and women who are concerned about their abusive behaviour towards their partner

Herts Sunflower – 08 088 088 088 – http://www.hertssunflower.org/
or in an emergency dial 112. Picked upon? Controlled? Hurt by someone you love? Herts Sunflower can help. A confidential and free service

The National Centre for Domestic Violence – 0844 8044 999 www.ncdv.org.uk
Free fast services to survivors of Domestic Violence

Women’s Aid – 0808 2000 247 – www.womensaid.org.uk
Help and support for women living with domestic violence

Men’s Advice Line – 0808 801 0327 – www.mensadviceline.org.uk
Help for male victims of Domestic Violence

 

Bereavement

St Albans Bereavement Network – 01727 841841 – www.sabn.org.uk
Support for bereaved in St Albans District

Cruse Bereavement Care – 0844 477 9400 – www.cruse.org.uk

Offering understanding support to the bereaved of any age, runs alongside a youth involvement project listed below

RD4U – 0808 808 1677 – www.rd4u.org.uk

The Child Bereavement Charitywww.childbereavement.org.uk
Supports families both when a child dies and when a child is bereaved

Winston’s Wish – 0845 20 30 40 5 – www.winstonswish.org.uk
Provides practical support and help for bereaved children and their families

 

Health

Young Minds – 0808 802 5544 – www.youngminds.org.uk
Support for child mental health issues.

Understanding Childhood – www.understandingchildhood.net
Provides downloadable information leaflets to help raise emotionally secure children

NHS Direct – 0845 4647 – www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk
For health advice and reassurance 24 hours a day, 365 days a year

Great Ormond Street – 020 7405 9200 (main switchboard) – www.gosh.nhs.uk
A free general health information site for young people and families run by Great Ormond Street Hospital.

Go Smoke Free – www.gosmokefree.nhs.uk
Support to give up smoking

British Red Cross – 0844 871 11 11 – www.redcross.org.uk
Global Voluntary network who help people in crisis whoever or wherever they are

Child Accident Prevention trust – 020 7608 3828 – www.capt.org.uk
Advice on protecting children from having accidents

Nits – 01908 561982 – www.nits.net
Advice on detecting and curing head lice and nits

Downs Syndrome Association – 0845 230 0372 – www.downs-syndrome.org.uk
Help for people with Downs Syndrome

Cystic Fibrosis Trust – 0300 373 1000 – www.cftrust.org.uk
Support for people with Cystic Fibrosis

National Deaf Children’s Society – 0808 800 8800 – www.ndcs.org.uk
Advice and support for Deaf children

National Autistic Society – 020 7833 2299 – www.nas.org.uk
Leading charity for people with Autism

National Eczema Society – 0800 809 1122 – www.eczema.org
Support for people suffering from eczema

Royal National Institute of Blind People – 0303 123 9999 – www.mib.org.uk
Support for blind and partially sighted people

Brainwave – www.brainwave.org.uk
Therapy and information for families with children who have developmental delay, cerebral palsy, genetic disorder or brain injuries

Afasic – 0845 – 355 55 77 – www.afasic.org.uk
Support for children and families to help them overcome their speech and language difficulties

Multiple Births Foundation – 020 3313 3519 – www.multiplebirths.org.uk
Support for families and professionals working with multiple birth families

Macmillan Cancer Support – 0808 808 0000 – www.macmillan.org.uk
Practical, medical and financial support for people suffering with cancer

Family Information Service – 01438 737502/01923 471502 – www.hertsdirect.org/younginherts
Information, advice and support on the services available to families in Herts. Available Mon – Fri 8.30am – 4.30pm. Email: younginherts@hertscc.gov.uk

Citizens Advice Bureau – 0844 411 1444 – www.adviceguide.org.uk
Free, independent, impartial advice and information

Young Minds – 0808 802 5544 – www.youngminds.org.uk
Support for child mental health issues

Herts Urgent Care Advice Service – NHS 111 – http://hucweb.co.uk
For urgent advice and treatment outside of your GP opening hours, in an emergency please dial 112

SNAP – 07979 612363 – http://www.stalbansmencap.org.uk
A leading organisation that offers holiday play schemes to young people aged 3-19 years with varying learning disabilities

Community Mental Health Team – 0300 123 3393 – www.mind.org.uk
Care advice and support for adults who have issues with mental health problems

 

Education and Special Educational Needs

Literacy Trust – www.literacytrust.org.uk/familyreading/parents/index.html
Tips for helping your children read

Family Fund – 08449 744 099 – www.familyfund.org.uk
Financial help for equipment or services for a disabled child

Dial UK – 01302 310 123 – www.dialuk.org.uk
Information and advice for disabled people

Parent Partnership – 01442 217143 or 01992 555847 www.parentpartnership.org.uk
Impartial advice and support for parents of a child with Special Educational Needs.

Information Advice Support Service (IASS) – 01992 555847 – www.hertsdirect.org/parentpartnership
Impartial advice and support for parents of a child with Special Educational Needs (previously known as Parent Partnership)

Mencap – 0370 800 9377 – www.mencap.org.uk
Works to gain support, education, house, jobs & recreational opportunities for people with learning difficulties

ACE – 0300 0115 142 – http://www.ace-ed.org.uk/advice-about-education-for-parents
We aim to offer a comprehensive range of advice and information on education issues

Parenting Support

Dad Info – www.dad.info Support for Fathers

Dads Space – www.dads-space.com
Advice and information based on Dad’s experiences and research

Dad Talk – www.dadtalk.co.uk
News, advice and support for Dads

Bubbalicious – www.bubbalicious.co.uk
A site for young parents

TAMBA – 0800 138 0509 – www.tamba.org.uk
Support and information for parents of multiple births and professionals involved in their care

One Parent Family – www.oneparentfamily.co.uk
Information, support, advice and help from other single parents

One Space – www.onespace.org.uk
Parenting site for single parents

Separated Families Matter – www.separatedfamiliesmatter.org.uk
Practical and emotional support for separated families

NFPI – www.familyandparenting.org
National Family and Parenting Institute

SupportLine – 01708 765200 – www.supportline.org.uk
Confidential Emotional support for children, young people and adults

NSPCC – 0808 800 5000 – www.nspcc.org.uk
Advice for anyone worried about a child

Directgov – Childcare – www.direct.gov.uk/childcare
Advice for parents on childcare and parenting

Netmums – www.netmums.com
Netmums is a unique local network for Mums (or Dads), offering a wealth of information on both a local and national level

Family Lives – 0808 800 2222 or text 0800 7836783 – www.familylives.org.uk
Provide confidential, impartial advice and support line for parents. Open 24/7

Home Start – 0800 686368 – www.home-start.org.uk
Trained volunteers offer support, friendship and practical help to families with 1 child under 5 years

Contact a Family – 0808 808 3555 – http://www.cafamily.org.uk/what-we-do/
We support families of disabled children across the UK, whatever their condition or disabilityWe support families of disabled children across the UK, whatever their condition or disability

Gingerbread – 0808 802 0925 – http://www.gingerbread.org.uk/
We provide expert advice, practical support and campaign for single parents

ChildLine – 0800 1111 – www.childline.org.uk
A free, 24-hour, confidential telephone helpline for children and young people. Also at www.achance2talk.com you can email your problems for reply by an adviser plus chat.

ADD-Vance – 01727 833963 – www.add-vance.org
Supporting parents and carers of children with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder and Autism Spectrum Disorder

Disability, Pregnancy & Parenthood International – 0800 0184730 – www.dppi.org.uk

Youth Connexions – 0300 123 4043 – www.youthconnexions-hertfordshire.org

 

Addiction

Down your drink – www.downyourdrink.org.uk
An online self-help programme for anyone worried about their drinking; confidential, free and accessible 24 hours a day.

Al-Anon UK – 020 740 30 888 – www.al-anonuk.org.uk
Worldwide organisation Al-Anon offers support and understanding to families and friends of problem drinkers, whether the alcoholic is still drinking or not. Confidential Helpline open from 10am to 10pm.

Beating Addictions – www.beatingaddictions.co.uk
Support to recognise and beat all types of addiction.

FRANK – 0800 77 66 00 – www.talktofrank.com
Confidential drugs information and advice 24 hrs a day for young people and parents/carers

ADFAM – 0207 553 7640 – www.adfam.org.uk Offers
Information and advice for families of alcohol and drug users

Alcohol Concern – 020 7264 0510 – www.alcoholconcern.org.uk
Alcohol Concern is the national agency on alcohol misuse for England and Wales. It offers general information about alcohol and can help put you in touch with your nearest alcohol advice centre.

Addaction – www.addaction.org.uk
Addaction is a UK-wide treatment agency, helping individuals, families and communities to manage the effects of drug and alcohol misuse

B-eat – Helpline 0845 634 1414 & Youthline 0845 634 7650 – www.b-eat.co.uk
Support for eating disorders

Turning Point – 01923 213015 – www.turning-point.co.uk
Turning Point is a leading health and social care organization. They provide services for people with complex needs, including those affected by drug and alcohol misuse, mental health problems and those with a learning disability

HertsSpeak – 01438 312055 or 07918 641535
Support for families affected by alcohol misuse

 

Debt

Money Advice Service – 0300 500 5000 – www.moneyadviceservice.org.uk
Money Advice Service offer free, clear and unbiased advice to help you manage your money

National Debtline – 0808 808 4000 – www.nationaldebtline.co.uk
Offer free phone and email advice on financial problems

UK Insolvency Helpline Debt Advice Service – www.insolvencyhelpline.co.uk – 0800 074 6918
Confidential debt advice.

Consumer Credit Counselling Service (CCCS) – 0800 138 1111 – www.cccs.co.uk
CCCS offer free advice including debt counselling, welfare benefits checks, mortgage counselling and specialist debt advice for the self-employed, over the phone on, or online 24/7

Turn2us – www.turn2us.org.uk
Helps people access the money available to them through benefits, grants and other financial help

Child Maintenance Options – 0800 988 0988 – www.cmoptions.org
Helps parents to make informed choices about child maintenance and related issues.

Loan Shark Helpline – 0300 555 2222 – www.direct.gov.uk/stoploansharks
Advice for those who have been the victim of a loan shark

Dacorum First Credit Union – 01442 240250 – www.dacorum.gov.uk
A savings & lending co-operative, owned and run local volunteers

Debtline Direct – www.debtline-direct.com
Advice and support to get finances back under control

Dacorum First Credit Union – 01442 240250 – www.dacorum.gov.uk
A savings & lending co-operative, owned and run local volunteers

Christians Against Poverty (CAP) – 0800 328 0006 – www.capuk.org
Free Debt counselling for everyone

Benefits Enquiry Line – 0800 882200
All enquiries about entitlements

 

Counselling

Counselling Directory – www.counselling-directory.org.uk
Registered Counsellors and Psychotherapists around the UK

British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy – 01455 883 300, www.itsgoodtotalk.org.uk
Can provide details of reputable counsellors near you

Asian Family Counselling Service – 020 8571 3933, www.asianfamilycounselling.org.uk
Offers free and low-cost counselling for Asian relationships, individual and family problems

Open Toy Box – www.theopentoybox.co.uk
A client centred Play Therapy Practice with a team of qualified Counsellors and Play Therapists.

Journey Therapy – 01442 213152 – www.journey-therapy.co.uk
Healing/therapy which can help with a wide range of emotional and physical issues

NYAS – www.nyas.net
Offer information, advice, advocacy and legal representation to children, young people and vulnerable adults.

 

Housing

Shelter – 0808 800 4444 – www.shelter.org.uk
The housing and homelessness charity

DBC Housing Solutions – 01 442 228900 – www.dacorum.gov.uk/default.aspx?page=2774
Advice line and internet info for Dacorum Borough Council housing services

DENS – 01442 262274 – www.dens.org.uk
Emergency night shelter in Dacorum

Dacorum Rent Aid – 01442 253923 – www.homelessuk.org/details.asp?id=UK16035
A scheme to allow single homeless people access private rented sector accommodation

 

Adult Learning & Employment

NIACE – www.niace.org.uk
National Institute of Adults Continuing Education aims to encourage all adults to engage in learning of all kinds.

Dacorum Learning Partnership – www.dacorumlearningp.btik.com
To promote access to and participation in lifelong learning for residents of Dacorum

Job Centre Pluswww.jobseekers.direct.gov.uk
Help and advice when looking for a job and claiming

Learn Directwww.learndirect.com
Careers and Training advice

Disability Alliance – www.disabilityalliance.org
Working to relieve poverty and improve the living standards of people with disabilities

Working Families – 0800 013 0313 – www.workingfamilies.org.uk
Advice for working parents/carer to help achieve a work life balance

Community Action Dacorum – www.communityactiondacorum.org.uk – Run courses for Dacorum based residents to gain skills to re-enter the job market.

 

Relationship and general emotional support

Couple Counselling – www.ukcouplescounselling.com
Counselling for couples and individuals at any stage of a relationship

SANE – 0845 767 8000 – www.sane.org.uk
Support to improve quality of life for anyone suffering from mental illness

MIND – 0845 766 0163 – www.mind.org.uk
Information and advice to promote and protect good mental health for everyone

Relate – 0300 100 1234 – www.relate.org.uk & www.relateforparents.org.uk
Relate offers advice, relationship counselling, sex therapy, workshops, mediation, consultations and support face-to-face, by phone and through their website. Local branches can be found via the website or in the local phone directory.

Gingerbread – 0808 802 0925 – www.gingerbread.org.uk
Advice and practical support for single parent families.

The Gade Family Support Service does not endorse or recommend any of the external organisations, services or information listed above.